My 2012 reading journey so far…

I thought I’d let you see what I have read so far this year, it’s a bit late for detailed reviews on each so for now a simple score and quick thought twitter style on each, detailed reviews will start from what I’m reading now, If that makes sense!

Books read so far this year:-

Howard’s End Is On The Landing – Susan Hill *** (Nice idea, well executed)

Animal Farm – George Orwell **** (Sincere political statement)

The Comfort Of Strangers – Ian McEwan *** (Lovely prose, a little boring)

The Sense Of An Ending – Julian Barnes *** (Nice little novella)

Moab Is My Washpot – Stephen Fry ***** (My all time favourite biog & a lovely man)

The Fry Chronicles – Stephen Fry *** (A little self-deprecating at times, but very good)

Howard’s End – E. M. Forster **** (Excellent read, deserving of the classic tag)

Where Angels Fear To Tread – E. M. Forster *** (Nice Story)

Stop What Your Doing And Read This – Various Essays **** (Superb collection of essays)

The Curious Incident Of The Dog In The Night-Time – Mark Haddon **** (Fantastic)

Before I Go To Sleep – SJ Watson *** (Very good début novel)

The Sisters Brothers – Patrick Dewitt **** (Very good western noir)

Pigeon English – Stephen Kelman  *** (Very good, booker shortlisted)

First Love, Last Rites – Ian McEwan – *** (Good collection of stories, quite shocking)

In Between The Sheets – Ian McEwan ** (Quite dull, sets out to shock & fails)

The Poison Tree – Erin Kelly ***** (Absolutely Fabulous book, a new favourite author)

It’s hard to sum what you felt about a certain book in so few words but with time against me, this will have to do for now. Regular reviews will begin from now.

Favourite of the year so far has to be The Poison Tree by the lovely Erin Kelly. I was going to review it but there is a superb review on Simons site that you can read here. The only places Simon and myself differ is where he was gripped in places by the novel, it had me hooked from cover to cover. I’m currently devouring Erin’s second book The Sick Rose now and will report back with a review, my first review *gulp*.

This entry was posted in Reading Journey, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

